The Trustees

ANN BARSBY was instrumental in the setting up of the Trust in 2002 and continues to be the inspiration and driving force behind most of our activities. She is also active as a committee member of several other local heritage organisations and is heavily involved in the Gasworks Museum Trust. She was formerly head of the Tourism Department of Otago Polytechnic. She was the recipient of the Dunedin Bluestone Award for preservation and promotion of Otago’s heritage in 2011 and was awarded the QSM in 2014 for services to heritage.

GEOFF BELLAMY is an Australian national who has worked in heritage management for more than 20 years. Educated in New Zealand, England and Australia, his career has been divided between economic development and conservation research in each of these countries. Having retired as Area Manager with NZHPT in Dunedin in 2007, he is now a published author in the fields of maritime and military history.

JOANNE GALER was born and raised in Dunedin and has a background in public relations and newspaper journalism.
She has a BA (Hons) degree in History from Otago University, which included a thesis on the demise of the Dunedin Stock Exchange building, and she has also co-researched an e-book on the history of the Warehouse Precinct. Joanne and her partner Peter McIntyre have (several times!) renovated their villa in Opoho, where they live with their two teenage girls. Joanne’s current full-time role is Senior Communications Adviser at the University of Otago.

BRENT LOVELOCK is the current Chair of the Trust. He was formerly was the Chair of the Otago Branch Committee of the NZ Historic Places Trust. He came over to the Southern Heritage Trust after the merger of the two bodies in 2013. He is an Associate Professor in the Tourism Department of Otago University, and has a special interest in natural resource management and in sustainable tourism in its broadest sense, environmentally, socially and politically.

ANNA THOMPSON-CARR is originally from the central North Island and moved to Dunedin in 1995 after living in Tongariro and Aoraki Mt Cook National Parks. She is currently a senior lecturer and co-director of the Centre for Recreation Research in the Tourism Department of the University of Otago. She also serves on the Otago Conservation Board. Anna’s interests include art, photography and permaculture.

Heritage Matters
OAR Heritage Matters Programmes